Orlando Gibbons:
A Suite of Sacred Songs

Orlando Gibbons: A Suite of Sacred Songs contains 14 hymn tunes composed by Orlando Gibbons (1583-1625), a prominent chorister, virginalist, organist, and composer of the Tudor and Jacobean eras — the last of the great English polyphonists and a significant contributor to the music of the English Church.

 Gibbons contributed a number of tunes to accompany The Hymnes and Songs of the Church (1623), a collection of metrical settings of canticles, prayers, creeds, and occasional hymns and spiritual songs by English poet and pamphleteer George Wither (1588-1667).

This collection includes 14 of Gibbons’ tunes for The Hymnes and Songs of the Church, newly arranged for brass quintet. As these arrangements are individually brief, they may be combined in various ways to comprise short suites for worship service preludes, offertory/communion anthems, or recitals. They also make very effective short interludes between readings in Evensong and other occasional services of the Church.

The video preview of this collection includes seven of the 14 tunes: #1, 3, 4, 5, 18, 22, and 46.

Score, parts (Bb tpt. 1, Bb tpt. 2, F horn, tbn, tuba) — $17.99